One Hundred Names – Cecelia Ahern

Standard

Journalist Kitty Logan’s career is being destroyed by scandal – and now she faces losing the woman who guided and taught her everything she knew. At her terminally ill friend’s bedside, Kitty asks – what is the one story she always wanted to write?

The answer lies in a file buried in Constance’s office: a list of one hundred names. There is no synopsis, nothing to explain what the story is or who these people are. The list is simply a mystery. But before Kitty can talk to her friend, it is too late.

With everything to prove, Kitty is assigned the most important task of her life: to write the story her mentor never had the opportunity to. Kitty not only has to track down and meet the people on the list, but find out what connects them. And, in the process of hearing ordinary people’s stories, she starts to understand her own.

When I was given the opportunity to review this book, I jumped – no leaped at the chance! Cecelia Ahern is one of my all time favourite authors and I can honestly say I have LOVED every single one of her books, although my favourite P.S I Love You has to be one of my all time favourites!

This book focuses on the main character Kitty Logan, a journalist who has just committed career suicide and ruined the life of Colin McGuire and his family. To make matters worse, one of Kitty’s best friends, who truly believes in her both personally and professionally, who taught her everything she knows, is losing her battle with a terminal illness.

I have to say I felt really sorry for Kitty throughout the book, she’s made a terrible mistake, one that will surely kill her career, and she’s at a loss at how to figure out the solution to put things right.

When Constance guides Kitty to a list of one hundred names hidden in her office, Kitty is determined to discover who these people are, what their story is and how they are all linked together. Kitty needs to prove she can do this, not only for her own piece of mind, but to try and save her flailing career. Unable to speak to Constance further about the names of these people, Kitty embarks on a journey of a life time – to write the story of all stories.

The journey Kitty embarks on had me hooked! I, as much as Kitty wanted to track these people down and hear their stories. Although only six characters are used of the one hundred names I thought this was more than enough to keep the book flowing at an exciting pace, any more and the plot would have become lost. The six characters we meet are brilliant, their stories have a broad range from sipping brandy laced tea in a nursing home, to trying to break a world record! And of course there is the journey and story of Kitty, who faces some pretty tough times along the way. These characters, and their shenanigans, will have you hooting with laughter (especially the marriage proposals!)

Will these one hundred names lead Kitty to redemption? There’s only one way to find out and that is to read this beautifully written, heart warming book!

One Hundred Names is released on the 11th October 2012. Pre-order your copy now!

My Rating:  

One Hundred Names is available here

About zobocopreviews

My name is Zoe – or Zobocop as my adorable niece and nephew call me! You guys can call me either lol – I answer to both! I have a gorgeous little puppy called Arnie who keeps me, or at least is trying to, keep me fit! I currently live with my other half in not so sunny Sheffield! I’m 25 years old and I absolutely LOVE reading! It’s a passion of mine! You can’t beat a good old book, digital or physical! There’s nothing better when life is tough or you want to escape, than to turn the pages of a book and completely lose yourself in the story! I love most genres such as criminal thrillers, mystery and fantasy – but I do LOVE chick lit! Anyway, the aim of this blog is to keep you guys, and myself, up to date with what I am reading. This is currently just a hobby of mine but eventually I would love to review books seriously. So – any questions feel free to drop me a line! You can also follow me on Twitter @zobo_cop

Leave a Reply

