Destined To Play – Indigo Bloome

Standard

When 37-year-old psychologist, Alexandra Blake, leaves her comfortable suburban existence to give a series of lectures , she meets up with Dr Jeremy Quinn, the man who opened her eyes and body to the world in ways she never thought possible.

After a few glasses of champagne in his luxurious hotel penthouse, he presents her with an extraordinary proposition. Alexandra knows that they never promise each other something they can’t commit to and that he will challenge her every inhibition.

But she soon finds herself seduced into a level of surrender – and danger – she could never have imagined.

Destined to Play is the first book in the Avalon trilogy exploring the intricate relationships between trust and betrayal, desire and love, risk … and reward. 

I recently asked to review a copy of this book and was more than excited to get stuck in, given the hype of the 50 Shades of Grey (as this is said to be a winner if you liked those books).

The postman came and delivered the book and I physically restrained myself from snatching the parcel from his grip, tearing open the envelope and getting stuck in!

On reading the first few chapters the book had me intrigued, Alexandra has a family in Australia. Her marriage is somewhat of an unhappy one and I think it’s fair to say that she has only stayed married to Robert for the sake of their children.

Robert takes the children away on a camping trip and that is when the fun really starts for Alexandra. She takes this opportunity to throw herself back into her work, which she feels has somewhat been neglected due to the rearing of her children, and so off she goes.

However she meets up with her best friend, and one time lover, Dr Jeremy Quinn. I have to say on reading the book and reflecting on the story – this character gave me the creeps. He had so many different sides to his character but the really sleazy side of him just outshone the caring nature and love he has towards Alexandra.

Jeremy treats Alexandra to a luxurious hotel, expensive champagne and exotic foods, but this all comes at a cost! Alexandra therefore promises Dr Quinn 48 hours and no questions asked!

I wont divulge further into the story as I don’t want to give away the plot. For me this book was an OK read, I’d be interested to read parts two and three, if only to get a better picture of the whole story. The book doesn’t focus on romance between the characters, which is a good thing, but is an erotically charged read that leaves you hanging on the edge to find out what happens to Alexandra next…!

If you loved 50 Shades of Grey then give this book a go.

My rating: 

This book is available both in physical and digital format here

About zobocopreviews

My name is Zoe – or Zobocop as my adorable niece and nephew call me! You guys can call me either lol – I answer to both! I have a gorgeous little puppy called Arnie who keeps me, or at least is trying to, keep me fit! I currently live with my other half in not so sunny Sheffield! I’m 25 years old and I absolutely LOVE reading! It’s a passion of mine! You can’t beat a good old book, digital or physical! There’s nothing better when life is tough or you want to escape, than to turn the pages of a book and completely lose yourself in the story! I love most genres such as criminal thrillers, mystery and fantasy – but I do LOVE chick lit! Anyway, the aim of this blog is to keep you guys, and myself, up to date with what I am reading. This is currently just a hobby of mine but eventually I would love to review books seriously. So – any questions feel free to drop me a line! You can also follow me on Twitter @zobo_cop

Leave a Reply

