The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Standard

A fight to the death – on live TV. The game show where you kill or die, and where the winner’s prize is survival. In District 12, where Katniss Everdeen lives, life is harsh and brutal, ruled from afar by the all-powerful leaders of the Capitol. The climax of each year is the savage Hunger Games – where twelve boys and twelve girls from each District face each other in a murderous showdown. When sixteen-year-old Katniss is chosen to represent her district in the Games, everyone thinks it’s a death sentence. Only one person can survive the horrors of the arena. But plucky Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

I have to say that when I first saw these books I was a little dubious as I thought they were aimed at teenagers (which isn’t the case). It all seemed a little far fetched and so I held off buying the books until I had gone to see the film at the cinema.

The film absolutely blew me away! The plot is brilliantly thought out and I immediately downloaded the trilogy as soon as my Kindle arrived!

I started to read the book in the evening and 24 hours later I had completely devoured it!  The book is set in the future and centres around the Hunger Games, whereby two children between the ages of 12 and 18, one male and one female are chosen from each of the Twelve Districts, to participate in these games. Each district are unique to their own industry, i.e mining, farming and the like.

The participants are then trained before being placed in an artificial environment whereby they fight to the death. There can only be one winner.

The main character, Katniss wasn’t initially picked to participate in The Hunger Games, it was her sister Prim. On hearing Prim’s name being called out Katniss immediately begs to take her place, she will do anything to protect her family. Peeta was also picked from District 12 to participate in The Hunger Games, and as the plot unravels we learn that he is very fond of Katniss and has in fact saved her life once before.

Katniss hasn’t had an easy life, her father died in a mining disaster and so she became the family’s sole provider, breaking laws to put food on their table, whilst her mother fell to pieces.

My favourite character within the book was Haymitch, he was a previous winner of the Hunger Games. He also came from District 12 and is enlisted to help train Katniss and Peeta.

Although the book is set around people being killed, I didn’t find the book to be morbid and thought it to be very well written. It wasn’t a bloodbath as I had expected it to be. The book will have you gripped from the start of the Hunger Games. Will Katniss conquer?!

I don’t want to give too much away but I have to say that this is one of the best books I have read this year. I cannot wait until the second instalment is released in the cinemas next year!

My rating: 

The Hunger Games is available here

About zobocopreviews

My name is Zoe – or Zobocop as my adorable niece and nephew call me! You guys can call me either lol – I answer to both! I have a gorgeous little puppy called Arnie who keeps me, or at least is trying to, keep me fit! I currently live with my other half in not so sunny Sheffield! I’m 25 years old and I absolutely LOVE reading! It’s a passion of mine! You can’t beat a good old book, digital or physical! There’s nothing better when life is tough or you want to escape, than to turn the pages of a book and completely lose yourself in the story! I love most genres such as criminal thrillers, mystery and fantasy – but I do LOVE chick lit! Anyway, the aim of this blog is to keep you guys, and myself, up to date with what I am reading. This is currently just a hobby of mine but eventually I would love to review books seriously. So – any questions feel free to drop me a line! You can also follow me on Twitter @zobo_cop

One response »

Leave a Reply

