Inside Out – Mary O’Sullivan

Standard
A defiant son, a missing daughter and a workaholic husband turn Meg Enright’s comfortable life into a waking nightmare. Failing to find the support she needs from John, her husband of twenty years, Meg turns to her oldest friend and business partner Lynn Rooney for advice and help. But Lynn has problems of her own. She has harboured a secret love for a long time and now, it would seem, she can no longer keep her secret. When Francine Keyes, receptionist at the company John manages, accuses him of sexual harassment, John thinks things can get no worse. He is wrong. They do. How will Meg, so sensitive and gentle, cope with the family upheaval? Will John pay the price the blackmailing receptionist is demanding for her silence? And just who is it that Lynn Rooney has loved so silently for more than half her life?
This was the second book I have read, written by Mary O’Sullivan and I have to say it was FANTASTIC! The book focuses on the lives of the main characters – the Enright family. Meg’s husband is often absent dealing with his business ESAF and so has become neglectful in his role as husband and father, Tommy (the youngest son) struggles with fitting in both at school and at home. His choice of friends leave a lot to be desired but I couldn’t help feeling really sorry for him – he seems to be in the middle of things and acts as a buffer between Meg and John at home. Carrie (the oldest daughter) has left school and is on a break from college. The book follows her on her journey in the US where she embarks on a new adventure, and finds a new love – but is Garth all he seems to be? Meg has played the part of dutiful wife and mother, and now her children are all grown up she’s at a loss – can art save her? Will Francine (John’s secretary) get whats coming to her or will she manage to snake her way into Patrick’s affections and steal the company both he and John have worked so hard to build? The book is beautifully written and the descriptions throughout the book make you feel that you have been there and know it well. The twists and turns throughout the book keep you hooked to the very end!
My rating: 
Inside Out is available here
About zobocopreviews

My name is Zoe – or Zobocop as my adorable niece and nephew call me! You guys can call me either lol – I answer to both! I have a gorgeous little puppy called Arnie who keeps me, or at least is trying to, keep me fit! I currently live with my other half in not so sunny Sheffield! I’m 25 years old and I absolutely LOVE reading! It’s a passion of mine! You can’t beat a good old book, digital or physical! There’s nothing better when life is tough or you want to escape, than to turn the pages of a book and completely lose yourself in the story! I love most genres such as criminal thrillers, mystery and fantasy – but I do LOVE chick lit! Anyway, the aim of this blog is to keep you guys, and myself, up to date with what I am reading. This is currently just a hobby of mine but eventually I would love to review books seriously. So – any questions feel free to drop me a line! You can also follow me on Twitter @zobo_cop

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

