Monthly Archives: June 2012

Fifty Shades of Grey!

Standard

Now we all know these books have taken the world by storm! If you haven’t read the books you have certainly heard about them! Almost every copy is being bought – almost as soon as they hit the shelves and I myself have witnessed people getting a little, shall we say unhinged, that they have been unable to get a copy!

It’s first week of sales racked up an impressive 100,000 sales leading it to become the UK’s fastest selling book of the year!

So when browsing Facebook this morning I came across this little gem;

http://www.emeraldstreet.com/home/landing2/article/1215/book-now-fifty-shades-of-grey-author-event#image-rotator-1

Emerald Street are hosting an exclusive author event with the one and only E.L James with the chance to meet the author and have your book(s) signed.

Tickets are priced at £20.00 which includes a free copy of Fifty Shades of Grey.

The event will take place on the 3rd July 2012. (Please click the above link for more details and to book tickets)

TAKEN – Jacqui Rose

Standard

‘All she wanted to do was get out of there. Get on a train and head for London, the place she’d been avoiding for so many years. But it was finally time.’

Casey Edwards has demons to put to rest. Since she had to give away her baby at 15, she’s been lost in booze and bad company. But now she wants to find her child and put things right. Heading to Soho, Casey meets former gangster Vince Sadler, an old-school hard man who can still handle himself – and anyone else. There’s a spark between Vince and Casey but she can’t let herself get hurt, not again.

To find the truth, Casey must enter the dark world of London’s gangland: hard drugs, vice, even people trafficking. Soon she discovers that mob boss Alfie Jennings and sadistic psycho Oscar Hardings are plotting something dangerous, something brutal. Something that puts Casey – and her child – in serious trouble . . .

Full of strong women, devious gangsters and compelling twists, Taken is compulsive read perfect for fans of Jessie Keane and Roberta Kray.

I was looking through my recent Kindle purchases and fancied a bit of a change from Chick Lit and so decided I would give this a try.

This is Jacui Rose’s debut novel and I have to say I was gripped from the start! The book focuses on Casey who as youngster was forced to put her baby up for adoption by her parents. The book centres around her journey of self discovery and also around Casey’s attempt to find the baby she put up for adoption.

Vince was an extremely likeable character, although he was a gangster – he had a heart and really cared for those around him, including Casey. While he came across as a big softy, but not someone I would want to double cross as Oscar Harding soon finds out!

I don’t want to give to much away but fans of authors such as Martina Cole will LOVE this book!

It was an easy read but had me hooked from the get go! I found myself really racing through the book as I was desperate to know if Casey did found her baby, was the baby alive, did the baby want to get to know Casey.

I couldn’t help feel sorry for Casey throughout the book, she was a little misunderstood and very mistrusting of people, but flashbacks of her past explain the her reasons behind this!

I will definitely read another of Jacqui Rose’s books! Brilliant!

My rating: 

For a short period only this book is available for your Kindle at a limited low price of £1.99. Physical copies are also available here

Rumours – Freya North

Standard

Everybody’s talking – but what’s really going on?

Rumour has it that Stella Hutton landed her new job thanks to family connections. She’s guarded about her past and private about her new life.

Over in Long Dansbury, there’s always a rumour circulating about Xander – but the eligible bachelor shrugs off village gossip.

Then a rumour starts that Longbridge Hall is up for sale. Home to the eccentric Fortescues, it has dominated Long Dansbury lives for centuries.

Stella is summoned to sell the estate. But Xander grew up there. His secrets and memories are not for sale. He’ll do anything to stand in Stella’s way. Anything but fall in love.

I was lucky enough to review a copy of this book and I have to say it was all that I expected – and more! Rumours is set around two main characters – Stella Hutton and Lady Lydia Fortescue. Stella has a young son, Will who is utterly adorable with a head far older than his years on his shoulders. Stella has escaped a painful, loveless marriage and after a recession hits she is forced to leave behind her beloved art gallery and goes down the line of selling properties for her uncle, in a bid to secure a better future for herself and her son with a regular income.

Lady Lydia Fortescue owns Longbridge which has been in her family for many generations. She is now the only remaining family member that lives there and after letting go of the reins and upbringing of the house she realises its time to move to pastures new. This does not come as an easy decision to be made, shes lived her whole life there and shares both good and emotionally heartbreaking memories within its grounds.

Lady Lydia Fortescue and Stella are thrust together as Stella is given a mammoth task of selling Longsbridge – to the highest bidder.

In comes Xander, he’s passionate about everything that Longbridge stands for and the people that live there. He holds Lady Lydia close to his heart and is determined at first that Stella will not get her claws into Longbridge.

As in all small villages – rumours are rife, but will all end well and will everyone get their very own happy ending?

Mix this all together and you have yourself a pretty little love story. All is not smooth sailing and this book will have you laughing along the way. This book is written in such a way that you feel that the characters within the pages are long lost friends with whom you’re long overdue a visit!

A brilliant summer read!

My rating: 

Rumours is released today and available here

Inside Out – Mary O’Sullivan

Standard
A defiant son, a missing daughter and a workaholic husband turn Meg Enright’s comfortable life into a waking nightmare. Failing to find the support she needs from John, her husband of twenty years, Meg turns to her oldest friend and business partner Lynn Rooney for advice and help. But Lynn has problems of her own. She has harboured a secret love for a long time and now, it would seem, she can no longer keep her secret. When Francine Keyes, receptionist at the company John manages, accuses him of sexual harassment, John thinks things can get no worse. He is wrong. They do. How will Meg, so sensitive and gentle, cope with the family upheaval? Will John pay the price the blackmailing receptionist is demanding for her silence? And just who is it that Lynn Rooney has loved so silently for more than half her life?
This was the second book I have read, written by Mary O’Sullivan and I have to say it was FANTASTIC! The book focuses on the lives of the main characters – the Enright family. Meg’s husband is often absent dealing with his business ESAF and so has become neglectful in his role as husband and father, Tommy (the youngest son) struggles with fitting in both at school and at home. His choice of friends leave a lot to be desired but I couldn’t help feeling really sorry for him – he seems to be in the middle of things and acts as a buffer between Meg and John at home. Carrie (the oldest daughter) has left school and is on a break from college. The book follows her on her journey in the US where she embarks on a new adventure, and finds a new love – but is Garth all he seems to be? Meg has played the part of dutiful wife and mother, and now her children are all grown up she’s at a loss – can art save her? Will Francine (John’s secretary) get whats coming to her or will she manage to snake her way into Patrick’s affections and steal the company both he and John have worked so hard to build? The book is beautifully written and the descriptions throughout the book make you feel that you have been there and know it well. The twists and turns throughout the book keep you hooked to the very end!
My rating: 
Inside Out is available here

Arnie’s Intro!

Standard

So in my ‘welcome’ post I mentioned that I have a puppy called Arnie! He is a Staffordshire Bull Terrier and his first birthday is in November!

My gorgeous, very spoilt, puppy!

His Likes:

Playing fetch, well not really fetch seeing as he never brings the ball to you and on the rare occasions that he does he never gives you the ball to throw for him! You have to bribe him first!

Cuddles with his (human) mommy and daddy! Daddy more than mommy though!

Chasing his tail!

Food! Especially apples!

People – or anyone willing to stroke him!

Long walks!

Golf balls!

His Dislikes:

Bathtime! He sits in the bath tub looking at you all sad – like he is the most hard done to little doggy in the world! He gets his revenge though by shaking all the water off of him – onto everything around him!

Birds! We have a robin redbreast that visits us in our garden and for some strange reason Arnie has taken a great dislike to the bird! Poor Robin!

The dreaded hoover! He goes wild as soon as he sees me get the hoover out, running round in circles barking!

I will be sure to keep you all updated with his amusing, sometimes naughty, antics!

xx

 

Welcome!

Standard

So as I was sat at work I suddenly had an idea – why not start a blog! I’m not sure whether this is going to turn out to be one of my better ideas yet – let me get back to you in a month or so!

So here’s a little about me:

My name is Zoe – or Zobocop as my adorable niece and nephew call me! You guys can call me either lol – I answer to both!

I have a gorgeous little puppy called Arnie who keeps me, or at least is trying to, keep me fit! I currently live with my other half in not so sunny Sheffield!

I’m 25 years old and I absolutely LOVE reading! It’s a passion of mine! You can’t beat a good old book, digital or physical! There’s nothing better when life is tough or you want to escape, than to turn  the pages of a book and completely lose yourself in the story!

Me and my other half recently, well I say recently, moved house! I left all the boring stuff to him such as packing and he took great delight (not) in telling me that the majority of our move consisted of my books – in total he reckoned I had close to 1000 books! Now that’s a LOT of books!

Since then I have bought loads more and when, not if, but when I win the lottery I am going to have a library to rival that of Belle’s in Beauty and the Beast!

I did win a Kindle recently over on the Chelsea Wives page on Facebook which pleased my other half no end – no more physical copies of books! Or so he thinks!

I love most genres such as criminal thrillers, mystery and fantasy – but I do LOVE chick lit!

Anyway, the aim of this blog is to keep you guys, and myself, up to date with what I am reading. This is currently just a hobby of mine but eventually I would love to review books seriously.

So – any questions feel free to drop me a line! You can also follow me on Twitter @zobo_cop